Skating to school

8 01 2010

Two days ago we got snow here, around 5cm, it was lovely. I went out to see it all and got pelted with snowballs by at least 5 excited kids. We got 2 days off school but we’re going back tomorrow. See, the snow froze overnight, didn’t melt and is now deadly. It’s going to be a whole lot of fun I’m sure, walking a mile to school tomorrow. Lame, right?

My shoes have absolutely no grip, and I have PE.

I also have a hell of a load of homework to do.

Anyway, being in the snow made me realize a  few things:

  • Everything looks better in the snow. People have bright red noses and chattering teeth but they look more beautiful than you’ve seen them in a long while.
  • Adults can actually have fun with kids. So many kids forced their parents off the sofa to help them roll that snowball that was getting heavy and give their man a head. Okay, a couple of parents just used their kids to help get their mates house messy, but it was nice to see everyone smiling.
  • That was the first time I’ve been out like that for months. I saw a load of people I don’t know, and I threw snowballs at strangers. It was amazingly fun.

That’s what snow does to people. It makes them forget about the bills they’re trying to pay off or the homework a week overdue. When you make snow angels with your little brother and take 50 pictures of yourself doing so, it’s kind of magical. I’m glad the stuff is rare here. At least when I fall over and break my neck tomorrow, I’ll have a fair few photo albums to look through in hospital.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

